American Drug War – the Last White Hope

Another in the many doco's and books I've been exploring on this topic over the last few years. American Drug War is a personal investigation of the topic by filmmaker Kevin Booth and manages to add some powerful new images and insights along the way. Highly recommended, especially if combined with the Dutch TV documentary War on Drugs: the Prison-Industrial Complex.

As to why I'm so interested in the topic (considering my lack of interest in actually using any legal or illegal drugs)? It's because the so-called "War on Drugs" is to American domestic policy what the "War on Terror" is to its foreign policy. I keep saying this – but imho, it can never be said too often. Until a few years ago (when I read Smoke and Mirrors: the War on Drugs and the Politics of Failure by Dan Baum), I had naively assumed it was a minor issue and I had no strong opinions on the legality or otherwise of drugs. Of course, I was willing to be persuaded that maybe marijuana should be decriminalised, but cocaine? Heroin? No way! But the more I look into the whole issue, the clearer it becomes that current policy is terribly harmful – and to a large extent politically (rather than medically) motivated. Add to this the indisputable involvement of the US government (especially the CIA) in the production and distribution of illegal drugs, and  – well, it stinks.

Anyway, here's a trailer for American Drug War:

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to American Drug War – the Last White Hope

  1. ryan costa says:

    In America most people have to do a severe amount of automobile driving.

  2. Dan Baum says:

    Thank you for mentioning my book, "Smoke and Mirrors," on your blog.I just wanted to let you know that I have a book about New Orleans coming out in February, which grows out of my coverage of Hurricane Katrina for the New Yorker. It's called "Nine Lives," and and you can read about it at http://www.danbaum.com.Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

